They Go Boom - Home Electronics 1991-1997 W&W037


You can now order They Go Boom!! - Home Electronics + bonus label sampler CD (see below).

They Go Boom!! were an electronic duo based in the Kent coastal town of Margate. With a line-up of Daryl Smith (voice) and Mike Innes (keyboards & programming), TGB released a pair of albums, Atlantic and Grande Vitesse, and five EPs throughout the 1990s. Those EPs are all brought together on this brand new compilation ‘Home Electronics’.

Made with cheap synths and portable home keyboards, TGB's music was inspired as much by classic English indiepop of the period -- Sarah Records acts The Field Mice and Another Sunny Day, for instance -- as electronic stars such as Depeche Mode and Kraftwerk. The band combined a melancholy take on small-town life in a forgotten corner of England with killer pop hooks. Rarely has a sense of resigned disappointment at a life drifting off into nothingness sounded quite so sweet as in the hands of They Go Boom!!

Track List

01. Sunny September
02. Door Marked Summer
03. Two By Two
04. Twentieth Century
05. Take Me To The End Of The World
06. She's Not My Friend
07. I Cant't Go Back
08. Your Less Attractive Friend
09. Woody Allen
10. Someday Soon
11. If You Trusted Me
12. World At Our Feet
13. Everything Is Weird
14. Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye
15. Island Nation
16. She's Leaving
17. Sunnyday A-Go-Go

And to celebrate British Summer Time this album will also ship with a free and brand new CD sampler entitled "Bedrooms, Fields & Houses" cat: W&W036 which features a brand new track from epic45, tracks by artists joining us for a release in the coming year, They Go Boom!!, Oliver Cherer, Mark Van Hoen and The Arm, plus unheard music by our label stalwarts E.L Heath, Field Harmonics, Charles Vaughan and My Autumn Empire. This album will not be sold seperately.